What Do Seven Pheras In A Wedding Mean

By: Mona Verma

A Hindu wedding is not complete without having the ritual of the seven pheras, or saath pheras as they are popularly known. In this article, we'll let you know of the importance of the seven pheras in a wedding.

Pheras symbolise the 7 basic promises of a married life, which are sworn in by the groom and bride around the holy fire. Hindus consider fire to be a very sacred element and most of the Hindu rituals are incomplete without worshiping the Fire God.

Coming to Hindu weddings, it is usually performed by 2 priests, one from the groom's side and the other from the bride's side, both chanting the Vedic mantras of togetherness.

Seven pheras is a beautiful ritual, and it may vary from religion to religion and from one region to the other, in India. It is an ancient belief in India that if the couples take these Pheras, they will stay together for the lifetime.

Before taking these seven vows, the bride sits on the right side of the groom, and then after, on the left side, hence being known as the better-half or the ardhaangani. The groom leads the first four Pheras, and later is preceded by his bride during the last three rounds.

Following is the relevance and the significance of the saath Pheras, have a look:


In The First Phera:

The bride and groom promise to each other to take care of each other's needs, so that there will not be any problems faced in their lives. The groom asks the promise from his wife to provide him with meals and in return he promises to take care of her and their family with utmost responsibility and welfare.


In The Second Phera:

The groom asks for a promise from the bride to have a happy family and kids, and the bride joyously accepts to be by his side, showing courage, and only demanding for love.


In The Third Phera:

The groom wishes to prosper and grow the family together and give good education to the children, for which the bride says yes and also makes a promise to be honest and loyal to him and remain chaste.


In The Fourth Phera:

Groom gently tells the bride that he now is complete and should be blessed with the kids and the bride admits to love him unconditionally.


In The Fifth Phera:

Groom now makes his wife his best friend and blesses her and the bride asks in return to be with him for as long as she lives. They promise to share their happiness and sorrows together as one family. The bride trusts and honors him and promises to fulfill all his wishes.


In The Sixth Phera:

The groom blesses her to have peace and joy and she reverts with the same.


In The Seventh Phera:

Finally, by admitting to the last vow, they accept each other as husband and wife and promise to be together till eternity. And the wife (now) accepts him as her husband and promises the same.

Read more about: wedding, rituals, facts, world
Story first published: Wednesday, October 26, 2016, 13:45 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...
Subscribe Newsletter