- 3 hrs ago Daily Horoscope 11 December 2019
- 12 hrs ago This Viral Video Of Chimpanzee Carefully Washing A T-Shirt Will Leave You Surprised
- 12 hrs ago Man Eats 'Banana Art' Worth USD 120,000, Says He Isn't Sorry!
- 14 hrs ago This Company Will Allow Their LGBTQ+ Employees To Avail HR Benefits On Declaring Their Partner
- News RRB NTPC Admit Card 2019 update: Exam conducting authority not yet finalised
- Finance PAN-Aadhaar Linking Deadline Nears: Here's What To Do
- Movies Happy Birthday Dilip Kumar: How Amitabh Bachchan & Shah Rukh Khan Have Hero-worshipped The Thespian
- Sports Napoli sack Ancelotti despite progressing in Champions League
- Technology Amazon Headsets Fest Offers You Can Get On Headphones, Earphones, Truly Wireless Earbuds And More
- Travel 7 Beautiful Churches in India For The Perfect Christmas Holiday
- Automobiles Orxa Mantis Electric Performance Motorcycle Revealed At India Bike Week 2019
- Education TOEFL Go! Global: A Mobile App From ETS To Stand Out In Exam
If you are diagnosed with coeliac disease or are already living with it, you know that it is a daunting task to include the food that is gluten free and healthy. Today, we at Boldsky are going to share with you the food you should include in your diet when you are gluten intolerant.
Let us begin by first understanding more about coeliac disease. What exactly is it?
Coeliac disease is an autoimmune disease in which patients’ small intestine becomes extremely sensitive to gluten which leads to difficulty in digesting gluten products. The only possible solution is to avoid gluten products in your diet.
Now, what is gluten? Gluten is a type of protein found in cereals like wheat, barley, and rye.
Gluten is found in the popular food items that we normally eat such cakes or pastries, pasta, cereals, some ready to eat meals, type of breads, most types of beer which is made from wheat or barley, certain sauces, cookies, crackers, biscuits.
That’s pretty much everything we eat, eh? Now, you would be wondering what food to include in your diet during gluten intolerance. Read on to know more about it.
Food to eat during gluten intolerance:
Wheat forms a major part of our diet in India but there are cereals like rice, corn, millet, flax, tapioca, and amaranth that we can include in our diet and lead just as healthy lifestyle.
Rice & Potatoes
Those with gluten allergy can rejoice as rice and potatoes which makes base of the some of the most yummy dishes is gluten free. Top them with your homemade sauce eat them with your meal or enjoy it as it is. There is no limit to how you can experiment with it.
Green Leafy Vegetables & Fruits
Green leafy vegetables and fruits are the food that you should include in your diet when you are gluten intolerant. Include lettuces, broccoli, kale, mushrooms, cauliflowers, sprouts, beans, bell peppers, brinjals, and tomatoes for healthy and wholesome diet.
Most products such as butter, margarine, cheese, ice-cream, buttermilk or curds should feature prominently in your list of the food you should include in your diet when you are gluten intolerant. But in case of processed food, check the label thoroughly for the additives that may contain gluten.
Most dals that we eat in India are gluten free so include them in your diet without any fear.
While you will have to say bye-bye to those processed ketchups and chutneys but you can still enjoy homemade salsa, chutney, mustard sauce if they are free of gluten. There is no restriction on seasoning and herbs but check the contents of the products before buying.
Raise A Toast!
For the fans of beer, there is a bad news. As most of the beer is made up of wheat or barley malt, you will have to avoid it. But that doesn't mean you have to avoid alcohol all together. You can still raise a toast with your favourite wine and liquor. Most wine and liquor are gluten free making it safe for those with gluten allergy.
Buy Best Health Insurance Plans