For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

National Film Awards: Veteran Actress Asha Parekh To Be Honoured With Dadasaheb Phalke Award For 2020


The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting announced on 27 September that the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020 will be accorded to legendary actress Asha Parekh. The award will be presented at the National Film Awards ceremony in New Delhi.

Announcing the decision, Union Minister Anurag Thakur said "I am honoured to announce that the Dadasaheb Phalke Selection Jury has decided to recognise & award Ms Asha Parekh ji for her exemplary lifetime contribution to Indian Cinema." The Minister also announced that the 68th National Film Awards will be held on 30 September 2022 and will be presided over by President of India Droupadi Murmu.

Asha Parekh To Be Honoured

Asha Parekh is a renowned film actress, director and producer and an accomplished Indian classical dancer. Starting her career as a child actor she made her debut as lead heroine in Dil Deke Dekho and has gone on to act in over 95 movies. She has acted in celebrated films like Kati Patang, Teesri Manzil, Love in Tokyo, Aya Saawan Jhoom Ke, Aan Milo Sajna, Mera Gaon Mera Desh.

Parekh is a winner of Padma Shri, awarded to her in 1992. She has also served as the head of Central Board for Film Certification from 1998-2001.

Asha Parekh To Be Honoured

Anurag Thakur also announced that the decision to confer the award to Asha Parekh was taken by a jury of five members. The jury for the selection of 52nd Dadasaheb Phalke Award consisted of five members from the film industry:

  • Asha Bhosle
  • Hema Malini
  • Poonam Dhillon
  • TS Nagabharana
  • Udit Narayan.
Desktop Bottom Promotion